Home » Readings » Required Readings

Required Readings

When I was an elementary school student, I used to read a book at night with a dim light. Whenever my mom saw me, she always complained, asking how I could read the letters and saying I’m going to lose my eye sight if I kept doing that. I didn’t have any problem in reading a book with that brightness. Probably the light was too dim for her to recognize small letters, even though she was not much old at that time.

This week’s readings provide some design tips for older people. I think dark background with bright imprint color is easy for both young and old people to read, and bright background makes difficult to read for everyone. But I’m not sure about the white background is difficult for the older to read even though I understand the fact that the white reflects light.

One of the articles mentions that read and blue is good for the young, but I think red is also good for the older. We see very often that seniors like red, especially in Asia. It’s interesting to know that blue is not good for older people, which I never thought about. Another interesting tip to find out which has good tonal contrast is converting an image into black and white, even though I’m not sure how much time the designers can spend in checking tonal contrast.

It’s a kind of scary to see examples of human vision in low light environments at age 20, 60, and 75 shown on the article. I think losing ability to focus vision can be a matter of everyone, not only for the older. But it’s sad to know about vision difficulties with a certain field loss that the older may have. The designers also have to think about the appropriate height and width of typefaces. I received lasik eye surgery around 8 years ago. Since then, it’s a little bit difficult to read signs using narrow typefaces, such as Arial narrow font, from a far distance even though there is no problem in reading other letters. This article also emphasizes clear contrast between text and the background as well as the appropriate size of typeface.

Except for serious vision problems that the older have, I think many people are getting problems with their weak eye condition no matter how old they are. More considerations need for design!

Leave a Reply

